You are here:

Department of Geology & Geophysics - Student Groups

 

American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)

The Student Chapter Program of AAPG is made up of collegiate groups of geoscience students and one of the world's foremost co-educational programs within the geoscience sector with over 245 chapters. It provides students the opportunity to develop leadership skills and serves as a focal point for developing a feeling of professionalism through meeting industry representatives (aapg.org).

2016-2017 Academic School Year

President: Alex Koch, alexkoch@gmail.com

Faculty Advisor:  Cari Johnson, cari.johnson@utah.edu

 

 

Association of Environmental & Engineering Geologists (AEG)

AEG is the acknowledged international leader in environmental and engineering geology, and is greatly respected for its stewardship of the profession. AEG offers information on environmental and engineering geology useful to practitioners, scientists, students, and the public. Other geosciences organizations recognize the value of using and sharing AEG's outstanding resources.  AEG leads the profession in its advocacy for: Legislation, Professional Licensure, Regulation, Codes and Standards as each affects the practice of applied geosciences (aegweb.org).

To join AEG for free as a student member, download the membership application form and follow the instructions listed.

2016-2017 Academic School Year

At this time AEG is not currently active but will be active at a later date please be patient with us during this time that this group is not active.

Faculty Advisor:  Paul Jewell, paul.jewell@utah.edu

 

Society of Economic Geology (SEG)

The Society of Economic Geologists (SEG) Student Chapters seek to bring together like minded individuals interested in better understanding our resource-rich environment and the minerals it contains. The SEG encourages the formation of such Student Chapters to help promote the Society's objectives, firstly by advancing the study of mineral deposits and applying geological science to exploration, evaluation, and production, and secondly by disseminating scientific information through publications, courses, meetings and field trips. Student Chapters are the key to linking students with other students and with professional geoscientists in industry, academia, and government (segweb.org).

2016-2017 Academic School Year

President:  Elizabeth Berg

Faculty Advisor:  Eric Petersen, erich.petersen@utah.edu

Website: http://www.pyrite.utah.edu/cmes-seg/

 

Geology and Geophysics Student Advisory Committee (SAC)

The Student Advisory Committee serves as a student government group in the Department Geology & Geophysics. SACs were created to provide students with more opportunities to offer input at the departmental level.  We maintain a coordinated set of missions to enhance the learning experiences of the GG student body, as well as to promote future career and educational prospects for our students:

  1. Represent undergraduate students opinions to the larger departmental community. File Retention, Promotion, and Tenure (RPT) reports for departmental faculty.
  2. Serve as liaison between both undergraduate and graduate students and departmental administration and faculty. Promote productive student involvement within the Department.
  3. Plan and carry out events designed to serve the varying needs and wants of GG students, including information, opportunities, guest speakers, etc.
  4. Sustain commitment to diversity.

We are also currently offering a mentor program  to help undergraduates in their quest to achieve their degrees.

2016-2017 Academic School Year

Student Chair:

Undergraduate:  Hannah Stinson, hstinson19@yahoo.com

  Lily Wetterlin, lily.wetterlin13@gmail.com

  Madi McIntyre, madi.mcintyre8385@gmail.com

Graduate:             Gabriela St. Pierre, gaestpierre@gmail.com

         Courtney Wagner, courtney.wagner@utah.edu

         Julia Howe, julia.howe@utah.edu

        Casey Duncan, casey.j.duncan@gmail.com

Faculty Advisor:        David Dinter, david.dinter@utah.edu

 

Last Updated: 11/2/16