You are here:

Department of Geology and Geophysics Directory

 

Department Administration

 

thure Department Chair

 Thure E. Cerling

 Office: 383 FASB

 Office Phone: (801) 585-6656

 Email: thure.cerling@utah.edu

 

 


Administrative Assistant

Thea Hatfield

Office: 383 FASB

Office Phone: (801) 581-7062

Email:  thea.hatfield@utah.edu

 


Academic Advisor

Michelle Tuitupou

Office: 383 FASB

Office Phone: (801) 581-6553

Email: michelle.tuitupou@utah.edu

 


Accountant

Steve Rondina

Office: 383 FASB

Office Phone: (801) 585-6652

Email: steve.rondina@utah.edu


Administrative Program Co-ordinator

Shanna Futral

Office: 383 FASB

Office Phone: (801) 581-7162

Email: shanna.futral@utah.edu


Student Office Assistant

Kayleigh Kirkpatrick

Office: 383 FASB

Office Phone: (801) 585-7431

Email:  u1148394@gcloud.utah.edu

 

Academic Faculty

Dr. B

Dr. John Bartley

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 339

801-585-1670

john.bartley@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Structural Geology

Tectonics

Igneous Petrology

lauren

Dr. Lauren Birgenheier

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 323

801-585-3158

lauren.birgenheier@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Sedimentology

Stratigraphy

Petroleum Geology

Unconventional Resources

Paleoclimate

Website

Dr. B

Dr. Brenda Bowen

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building  (FASB)

Rm 251

801-585-5326

brenda.bowen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Global Change and Sustainability

Fluid-Sediment Interactions

Surface Processes in Extreme Environments

Sedimentary Geochemistry

CO2 Sequestration

Human Impacts on Environment

Interdisciplinary STEM Ed.

Dr. B 

Dr. Gabe Bowen

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 459

801-585-7925

gabe.bowen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotope Geochemistry

Paleoclimate

Carbon Cycle

Water Cycle

Forensic Ecology

Website

 Dr. B

Dr. John Bowman

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 439

801-581-7250

john.bowman@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotope Geology

 Dr. B

Dr. Paul Brooks

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 429

801-585-2858

paul.brooks@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Hydrology

Biogeochemistry

Snow

Climate

Water Resources

Hydrochemistry

Dr. B

Dr. Thure Cerling

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 453

801-581-5558

thure.cerling@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Environmental Geochemistry

Mammal Physiology

Isotope Geochemistry

Isotope Ecology

Website

 Dr. C

Dr. Marjorie Chan

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 311

801-581-6551

marjorie.chan@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Sedimentary Geology

Website

Dinter 

Dr. David Dinter

Professor Lecture

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 321

801-581-7937

david.dinter@utah.edu

 Holly

Dr. Holly Godsey

Assistant Professor Lecture

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 273

801-587-7865

holly.godsey@utah.edu

Dr I

Dr. Randall Irmis

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 343

801-851-6555

randall.irmis@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Triassic Continental Vertebrate Ecosystems

Paleoecology and Taphonomic Processes

Dr J

Dr. Paul Jewell

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 445

801-581-6636

paul.jewell@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Surface Processes

Hydrology

Website

 

 

Dr J

Dr. Cari Johnson

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 335

801-585-3782

cari.johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Basin Analysis

Sedimentology and Stratigraphy

Energy Geoscience

Website

Dr J

Dr. William (Bill) Johnson

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 441

801-581-5033

william.johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Subsurface and Aquatic Contaminant/Colloid Fate and Transport

Website


 

 

Keith

Dr. Keith Koper

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 217

801-585-3669

keith.koper@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Array Seismology

Earth's ambient seismic noise field

Forensic seismology and exotic sources

Rupture imaging of giant earthquakes

Seismicity and tectonivs of the intermountain West

Structure and dynamics of Earth's deep interior especially the core

Website

sarah

Dr. Sarah Lambart

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 409

801-581-6797

sarah.lambart@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Experimental Petrology

Geochemistry

Magma Genesis

Magma & Fluid - Rock Interactions

Website

  Dr L

Dr. Fan-Chi Lin

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 271

801-581-4373

fanchi.lin@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Seismology

Geophysics

Website

Dr L 

Dr. Peter Lippert

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 325

801-581-4599

pete.lippert@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Continental Tectonics

Orogenic Systems

Surface Process Responses to Threshold Climate Events

Biomagnetism

Paleomagnetism and Rock & Mineral Magnetism

Website

 Dr M

Dr. Lowell Miyagi

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 265

801-581-6619

lowell.miyagi@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Texture and Anisotropy Development Under High Pressure and Temperature Conditions

Website


 

 Dr M

Dr. Jeffrey Moore

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 449

801-585-0491

jeff.moore@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Geohazards

Geomorphology

Geomechanics

Geophysics

Website

 Dr N

Dr. Barbara Nash

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 409

801-581-8587

barb.nash@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Igneous Petrology

Website

 Dr P

Dr. Erich Petersen

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 319

801-581-7238

erich.petersen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Economic Geology

Mineralogy

Geochemistry

Environment

Dr R 

Dr. Kathleen Ritterbush

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 341

801-587-8846

k.ritterbush@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Marine Paleoecology

Mass Extinctions

Ecological Transitions

Biomineralization and Biogeochemical Cycling

Animal Form and Funcation

Evolution

Dr S 

Dr. Kip Solomon

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 425

801-581-7231

kip.solomon@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotopes of Noble Gases, especially 3He and 4He

Dr T

Dr. Michael Thorne

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 267

801-585-9792

michael.thorne@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Global Seismic Structure

Core Mantle Boundary Layer Structure

Volcano Seismology

Website

 DR Z

Dr. Michael Zhdanov

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 259

801-581-7750

michael.zhdanov@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Theoretical and Applied Geophysics

Inversion Theory

Electromagnetic Methods

Website

 

Research Faculty

Amir Allam

Title: Research Asisstant Professor
Office: 214 FASB
Office:  273 FASB
Phone:  (928) 853-7967  

 

James M. Karner

Title: Research Associate Professor
Office:  405 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 585-5976

 

Huilian Ma

Title: Research Assistant Professor
Office: 405 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 585-5976
Email: huilian.ma@utah.edu

Scott R. Miller

Title: Research Assistant Professor
Office: 305 FASB
Office Phone: (801)581-6217
Email: scott.r.miller@utah.edu

Kris Pankow

Title: Research Associate Professor
Office: 223 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 585-6484
Email: pankow@seis.utah.edu

James Pechmann

Title: Research Associate Professor
Office: 219 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 581-3858
Email: pechmann@seis.utah.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Name Email
Richard George Allis rickallis@utah.gov
David Applegate applegate@usgs.gov
Lukas Baumgartner lukas.baumgartner@unil.ch
Harley M Benz  benz@usgs.gov
John O. D. Byrd  jodbyrd@gmail.com
Nancy Carpenter nancycarpenterdvm@yahoo.com
Suvankar Chakraborty suvankar.chakraborty@utah.edu
John B. Comer jcomer@indiana.edu
Martin Cuma m.cuma@utah.edu
James R Ehleringer jim.ehleringer@utah.edu
Anke Maria Friedrich friedrich@lmu.de
John M Harris jharris@nhm.org
Scott Hynek scott.hynek@gmail.com
James Ian Kirkland jameskirkland@utah.gov
Mark Andrew Loewen mloewen@umnh.utah.edu
Fredrick Kyalo Manthi fredrickmanthi@yahoo.com
Donald D. Miller driftwood1050@gmail.com
Joseph N Moore jmoore@egi.utah.edu
Desmond E Moser desmond.moser@uwo.ca
Charles G. Oviatt joviatt@ksu.edu
Sasha Carey Reed screed@usgs.gov
Gerard Schuster gerard.schuster@kaust.edu.sa
Daniel D B. Seely dans@igesinc.com
Stuart Simmons ssimmons@egi.utah.edu
Virginia B Sisson j_sisson@netzero.net
Michael Stearns michael.stearns@utah.edu
Lisa Stright Lisa.Stright@colostate.edu

Philip E Wannamaker

pewanna@egi.utah.edu

Anton Wroblewski

afranzjosef@gmail.com

Emeritus Faculty

Emeritus Faculty is a title conferred by The University of Utah for the purpose of recognizing the meritorious service of a faculty member upon or after retirement.  Appointments to emeritus status for retired faculty members are made by the Board of Trustees on recommendation of the President of the University and the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs.

Walter J. Arabasz

Office: 215 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 581-7410
Email: arabasz@seis.utah.edu

Ronald Bruhn

Email: ron.bruhn@utah.edu

David S. Chapman

Email: david.chapman@utah.edu

Allan A. (Tony) Ekdale

Email: a.ekdale@utah.edu

Sue Halgedahl

Email: s.halgedahl@utah.edu

William Parry

Office: 305 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 581-6217
Email: w.parry@utah.edu

Dane Picard

Email: dane.picard@utah.edu

Robert B. Smith

Office: 243 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 581-7129
Email: robert.b.smith@utah.edu

 

Postdocs & Researchers

Vladimir Burtman

Office: 253 FASB

Email: vlad.burtman@utah.edu

Richard P. Fiorella

Office: 455 FASB

Email: rich.fiorella@utah.edu

Chao Ma

Office:

Email: chao.ma@utah.edu

Sarah Magozzi

Email: sarah.magozzi@utah.edu

Lindsey Christensen Nesbitt

Office: 415 FASB

Email: lindsey.nesbitt@utah.edu

Le Wan

Office: 257 FASB

Email: le.wan@utah.edu

Xiaonan Tai

Office: 415 FASB

Phone:

Email: 

 Xiaoling Zhou

Email:  xiaolingzhou@lbl.gov

Lab Personnel & Curator

Chris Anderson

Office:  401 FASB

Phone: 801-587-5666

Email:  christopher.r.anderson@utah.edu

Sagarika Banerjee

Office:  148 FASB

Email:  sagarika1005@yahoo.co.in

Wil Mace

Office:  417 FASB

Phone: 801-581-7263/585-5214

Email:  wil.mace@utah.edu

Brad Munk

Office: 

Phone:

Email:  brad.munk@gmail.com

Alan Rigby

Office:  401 FASB

Phone: 801-587-5666

Email:  alan.rigby@utah.edu

Quintin Sahratian

Title: Curator

Office:  155 FASB

Phone: 801-581-7209

Email:  quintin.sahratian@utah.edu

 GRADUATE  STUDENTS

NAME
ROOM
EMAIL
Beno, Carl
465 FASB 
Berg, Elizabeth
 
Bernau, Jeremiah
465 FASB
Birthisel, Tylor
 
Bradbury, Christopher
493 FASB
Breeden, Benjamin
365 FASB
Chica, Andrea
465 FASB
Couper, Samantha
 
Dereuil, Aubry
361 FASB
Duncan, Casey   casey.j.duncan@utah.edu
Erickson, Brock   brock.erickson@utah.edu
Finnegan, Riley 279 FASB riley.finnegan@utah.edu
Fischer-Femal, Brenden   b.fischerfemal@utah.edu
Fitzgerald, Kendall 465 FASB kendallmfitz@gmail.com
Frederick, Logan 499 FASB Logan.frederick422@gmail.com
Gay, Jeffrey   jgrunning@gmail.com
Geimer, Paul 279 FASB paul.geimer@utah.edu
Gelderloos, Andrew 499 FASB argelderloos@gmail.com
Han, Muran 291 FASB muran.han@gmail.com
Hebdon, Nicholas   nicholas.hebdon@gmail.com
Hill, Scott   techsource@msn.com
Hood, Seana 361 FASB seanahood@yahoo.com
Hu, Lihai 465 FASB lihaihu@gmail.com
Huth, Tyler 499 FASB Tyler.Huth@utah.edu
Jameel, Mohd Yusuf 499 FASB yusuf8ysf@gmail.com
Jones, Clay   cjones@egi.utah.edu
Jorgensen, Michael 291 FASB mjorgensen0@gmail.com
Kipnis, Evan 465 FASB evan.kipnis@utah.edu
Koch, Alexander 361 FASB alexrkoch@gmail.com
Lerback, Jory 465 FASB jory.lerback@gmail.com
Li, Ke   u0884302@utah.edu
Lin, Feng   linfeng910425@gmail.com
Lin, Wei   forever871001@gmail.com
Linville, Lisa   linville@seis.utah.edu
Luna Gonzalez, Joao 361 FASB lunaj86@gmail.com
Mackey, Glen 468 FASB Glen.Mackey@utah.edu
Meirovitz, Casey   cmeirovitz@gmail.com
Melstrom, Keegan 365 FASB keeganmelstrom@gmail.com
Mendoza, Kevin 279 FASB kevin.mendoza@utah.edu
Millington, Mallory 499 FASB malmillington@gmail.com
Moore, Shawn 361 FASB shawnmoore2242@gmail.com
Morris, Jennifer 361 FASB JenMorris65@gmail.com
Pang, Guanning 279 FASB yuupgn@gmail.com
Pedersen, Patricia (Trish) 279 FASB pedersen.patricia@gmail.com
Potter, Stephen   steppotter@gmail.com
Putman, Annie 499 FASB putmanannie@gmail.com
Quirk, Brendon 279 FASB brendonjamesq@gmail.com
Rasmuson, Jacqueline (Anna) 499 FASB farnsworthanna@gmail.com
Rasmussen, Cornelia 365 FASB Rasmussen.Cornelia@gmail.com
Rea-Downing, Grant 495 FASB greadown@gmail.com
Reat, Ellen 361 FASB ellen.reat@utah.edu
Ron, Cesar 499 FASB cesar.andres_91@hotmail.com
Scales, Monique   moniquemscales@gmail.com
Schwehr, Kate   kate.schwehr@utah.edu
Singh, Bhavneet 465 FASB bhavneet.singh8@gmail.com
St. Pierre, Gabriela 361 FASB gaestpierre@gmail.com
Stanczyk, Anna 279 FASB a.stanczyk@utah.edu
Steele, Peter 365 FASB peterarthursteele@gmail.com
Tao, Mo 291 FASB tmye1010@gmail.com
Trow, Andrew 279 FASB andyjtrow@gmail.com
Tu, Xiaolei 291 FASB tuxl2009@hotmail.com
Tulley-Cordova, Crystal 499 FASB crystal.tulley.cordova@utah.edu
Vanness, Kurt 465 FASB u0880313@utah.edu
Wagner, Courtney   cwags2011@gmail.com
Wang, Yadong   yadongwang1991@gmail.com
Wheatley, David   davidfwheatley@gmail.com
Wistort, Zackery 465 FASB zpwistort@gmail.com
Wu, Sin-Mei 288 FASB a06859a35@hotmail.com
Yang, Shu 499 FASB shuyang.utah@gmail.com
Last Updated: 8/16/18