You are here:

Department of Geology and Geophysics Directory

 

Department Administration

 

thure Department Chair

 Thure E. Cerling

 Office: 383 FASB

 Office Phone: (801) 585-6656

 Email: thure.cerling@utah.edu

 

 


Administrative Assistant

Thea Hatfield

Office: 383 FASB

Office Phone: (801) 581-7062

Email:  thea.hatfield@utah.edu

 


Academic Advisor

Michelle Tuitupou

Office: 383 FASB

Office Phone: (801) 581-6553

Email: michelle.tuitupou@utah.edu

 


Accountant

Shirstine Day

Office: 383 FASB

Office Phone: (801) 585-6652

Email: shirstine.day@utah.edu


Executive Secretary to the Chair

Connie Gorton

Office: 383 FASB

Office Phone: (801) 581-7162

Email: connie.gorton@utah.edu


Student Office Assistant

Elena Mitchell

Office: 383 FASB

Office Phone: (801) 585-7431

Email: elena.mitchell@utah.edu

 

Academic Faculty

Dr. B

Dr. John Bartley

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 339

801-585-1670

john.bartley@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Structural Geology

Tectonics

Igneous Petrology

lauren

Dr. Lauren Birgenheier

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 323

801-585-3158

lauren.birgenheier@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Sedimentology

Stratigraphy

Petroleum Geology

Unconventional Resources

Paleoclimate

Website

Dr. B

Dr. Brenda Bowen

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building  (FASB)

Rm 251

801-585-5326

brenda.bowen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Global Change and Sustainability

Fluid-Sediment Interactions

Surface Processes in Extreme Environments

Sedimentary Geochemistry

CO2 Sequestration

Human Impacts on Environment

Interdisciplinary STEM Ed.

Dr. B 

Dr. Gabe Bowen

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 459

801-585-7925

gabe.bowen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotope Geochemistry

Paleoclimate

Carbon Cycle

Water Cycle

Forensic Ecology

Website

 Dr. B

Dr. John Bowman

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 439

801-581-7250

john.bowman@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotope Geology

 Dr. B

Dr. Paul Brooks

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 429

801-585-2858

paul.brooks@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Hydrology

Biogeochemistry

Snow

Climate

Water Resources

Hydrochemistry

 Dr. B

Dr. Frank Brown

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 451

801-581-6552

frank.brown@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Neogene Geology of East Africa especially as related to fossil sites

 Dr. B

Dr. Thure Cerling

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 453

801-581-5558

thure.cerling@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Environmental Geochemistry

Mammal Physiology

Isotope Geochemistry

Isotope Ecology

Website

 Dr. C

Dr. Marjorie Chan

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 311

801-581-6551

marjorie.chan@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Sedimentary Geology

Website

 Dinter

Dr. David Dinter

Professor Lecture

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 321

801-581-7937

david.dinter@utah.edu

Dr E

Dr. Allan A. (Tony) Ekdale

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 347

801-581-7266

a.ekdale@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Invertebrate Paleontology

Marine Paleoecology

Ichnology

Sedimentology

 Holly

Dr. Holly Godsey

Assistant Professor Lecture

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 273

801-587-7865

holly.godsey@utah.edu

 

 

Dr I

Dr. Randall Irmis

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 343

801-851-6555

irmis@umnh.utah.edu

Research Interests:

Triassic Continental Vertebrate Ecosystems

Paleoecology and Taphonomic Processes

Dr J 

Dr. Paul Jewell

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 445

801-581-6636

paul.jewell@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Surface Processes

Hydrology

Website

Dr J

Dr. Cari Johnson

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 335

801-585-3782

cari.johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Basin Analysis

Sedimentology and Stratigraphy

Energy Geoscience

Website

Dr J

Dr. William (Bill) Johnson

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 441

801-581-5033

william.johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Subsurface and Aquatic Contaminant/Colloid Fate and Transport

Website

 Keith

Dr. Keith Koper

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 217

801-585-3669

keith.koper@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Array Seismology

Earth's ambient seismic noise field

Forensic seismology and exotic sources

Rupture imaging of giant earthquakes

Seismicity and tectonivs of the intermountain West

Structure and dynamics of Earth's deep interior especially the core

Website

 Dr L

Dr. Fan-Chi Lin

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 271

801-581-4373

fanchi.lin@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Seismology

Geophysics

Website

 Dr L

Dr. Peter Lippert

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 325

801-581-4599

pete.lippert@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Continental Tectonics

Orogenic Systems

Surface Process Responses to Threshold Climate Events

Biomagnetism

Paleomagnetism and Rock & Mineral Magnetism

Website

 Dr M

Dr. Lowell Miyagi

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 265

801-581-6619

lowell.miyagi@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Texture and Anisotropy Development Under High Pressure and Temperature Conditions

Website

Dr M 

Dr. Jeffrey Moore

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 449

801-585-0491

jeff.moore@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Geohazards

Geomorphology

Geomechanics

Geophysics

Website

 Dr N

Dr. Barbara Nash

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 409

801-581-8587

barb.nash@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Igneous Petrology

Website

 Dr P

Dr. Erich Petersen

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 319

801-581-7238

erich.petersen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Economic Geology

Mineralogy

Geochemistry

Environment

 Dr R

Dr. Kathleen Ritterbush

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 341

801-587-8846

k.ritterbush@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Marine Paleoecology

Mass Extinctions

Ecological Transitions

Biomineralization and Biogeochemical Cycling

Animal Form and Funcation

Evolution

Dr S 

Dr. Kip Solomon

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 425

801-581-7231

kip.solomon@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotopes of Noble Gases, especially 3He and 4He

 Dr T

Dr. Michael Thorne

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 267

801-585-9792

michael.thorne@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Global Seismic Structure

Core Mantle Boundary Layer Structure

Volcano Seismology

Website

 DR Z

Dr. Michael Zhdanov

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Rm 259

801-581-7750

michael.zhdanov@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Theoretical and Applied Geophysics

Inversion Theory

Electromagnetic Methods

Website

Research Faculty

Diego Fernandez

Title: Research Associate Professor
Office: 431 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 587-9366
Email: diego.fernandez@utah.edu

Jamie Farrell

Title: Research Assistant Professor
Office: 282 FASB
Office Phone:
Email: jamie.farrell@utah.edu

Alex Gribenko

Title: Research Assistant Professor
Office: 253 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 585-7071
Email: alex.gribenko@utah.edu

Marie D.  Jackson

Title: Research Associate Professor
Office:  273 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 587-7865

 

Huilian Ma

Title: Research Assistant Professor
Office: 405 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 585-596
Email: huilian.ma@utah.edu

Scott R. Miller

Title: Research Assistant Professor
Office: 305 FASB
Office Phone: (801)581-6217
Email: scott.r.miller@utah.edu

Kris Pankow

Title: Research Associate Professor
Office: 223 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 585-6484
Email: pankow@seis.utah.edu

James Pechmann

Title: Research Associate Professor
Office: 219 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 581-3858
Email: pechmann@seis.utah.edu

Michael Stearns

Title: Research Associate Professor
Office: 405 FASB
Email: michael.stearns@utah.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Name Email
Richard George Allis rickallis@utah.gov
David Applegate applegate@usgs.gov
Lukas Baumgartner lukas.baumgartner@unil.ch
Harley M Benz  benz@usgs.gov
John O. D. Byrd  jodbyrd@gmail.com
Nancy Carpenter nancycarpenterdvm@yahoo.com
Suvankar Chakraborty suvankar.chakraborty@utah.edu
John B. Comer jcomer@indiana.edu
Martin Cuma m.cuma@utah.edu
James R Ehleringer jim.ehleringer@utah.edu
Anke Maria Friedrich friedrich@lmu.de
John M Harris jharris@nhm.org
Robert N Harris rharris@coas.orgenstate.edu
Victor Michael Heilweil heilweil@usgs.gov
James Ian Kirkland jameskirkland@utah.gov
Mark Andrew Loewen mloewen@umnh.utah.edu
Fredrick Kyalo Manthi fredrickmanthi@yahoo.com
Brian J. Mcpherson b.j.mcpherson@utah.edu
Donald D. Miller driftwood1050@gmail.com
Joseph N Moore jmoore@egi.utah.edu
Desmond E Moser desmond.moser@uwo.ca
Charles G. Oviatt joviatt@ksu.edu
Sasha Carey Reed screed@usgs.gov
Gerard Schuster gerard.schuster@kaust.edu.sa
Daniel D B. Seely dans@igesinc.com
Stuart Simmons ssimmons@egi.utah.edu
Virginia B Sisson j_sisson@netzero.net
Lisa Stright Lisa.Stright@colostate.edu

Philip E Wannamaker

pewanna@egi.utah.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Emeritus Faculty is a title conferred by The University of Utah for the purpose of recognizing the meritorious service of a faculty member upon or after retirement.  Appointments to emeritus status for retired faculty members are made by the Board of Trustees on recommendation of the President of the University and the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs.

Walter J. Arabasz

Office: 215 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 581-7410
Email: arabasz@seis.utah.edu

Ronald Bruhn

Office: 325 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 581-6619
Email:ron.bruhn@utah.edu

David S. Chapman

Office: 265 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 581-6820
Email:david.chapman@utah.edu

Sue Halgedahl

Office: 225 FASB
Office Phone:(801) 585-3964
Email:s.halgedahl@utah.edu

Richard D. Jarrard

Office: 225 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 585-3964
Email:r.jarrard@utah.edu

William Parry

Office: 305 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 581-6217
Email:w.parry@utah.edu

Dane Picard

Email:dane.picard@utah.edu

Robert B. Smith

Office: 243 FASB
Office Phone: (801) 581-7129
Email:robert.b.smith@utah.edu

 

Postdocs & Researchers

Amir Allam

Office: 241 FASB

Email: amir.allam@utah.edu

Vladimir Burtman

Office: 253 FASB

Email: vlad.burtman@utah.edu

Lindsey Christensen Nesbitt

Office: 415 FASB

Email: lindsey.nesbitt@utah.edu

Erik Oerter

Office: 460 FASB

Email: erik.oerter@utah.edu

Le Wan

Office: 257 FASB

Email: le.wan@utah.edu

Rose Marie Smith

Email: rose.smith@utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-3917

Richard P. Fiorella

Email: rich.fiorella@utah.edu

Kevin M. Ward

Office: 282 FASB 

Email:  kevin.m.ward@utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-1234

 

 Coming Soon

Graduate Students

First Last Office Email
Tsolmon Adiya 361 FASB u1013392@utah.edu
Hassan AlJanobi 291 FASB the_river_17@hotmail.com
Chase Batchelor 279 FASB c.batchelor@utah.e
Carl J. Beno 465 FASB cjb20@comcast.net
Christopher Bradbury No Office geophysicistchris@gmail.com
Benjamin Breeden 365 FASB bbreeden@utexas.edu
Hongzhu Cai 291 FASB caihongzhu@hotmail.com
Samantha Couper 465 FASB u0883460@utah.edu
Baris Dadak 291 FASB baris.dadak@gmail.com
Danielle D'Alfonso No Office dalfonso@gmail.com
Aubry A. DeReuil 361 FASB aubry.dereuil@utah.edu
Casey Duncan 495 FASB casey.j.duncan@gmail.com
Karenth Dworsky No Office karenthlove@gmail.com
Thomas Etzel No Office thomas.etzel@utah.edu
Anna Farnsworth 499 FASB farnsworthanna@gmail.com
Shihang Feng 291 FASB shihang.feng@utah.edu
Brenden Fischer-Femal 495 FASB bfemal@ups.edu
Logan Frederick 499 FASB logan.frederick@utah.edu
Ryan Gall 361 FASB gallryand@gmail.com
Patti Garcia No Office patti7garcia7@gmail.com
Jeffrey Gay 283 FASB jgrunning@gmail.com
Paul Geimer 279 FASB geimerpr@gmail.com
Andrew Gelderloos 499 FASB argelderloos@gmail.com
Jennifer Georgek 465 FASB jengeorgek@gmail.com
Stewart Gubler 465 FASB s2artg@gmail.com
Muran Han 291 FASB hyacekavin@gmail.com
Scott Hill No Office techsource@msn.com
Daniel Hobbs No Office daniel.hobbs@utah.edu
Becky Hollingshaus No Office becky.hollingshaus@utah.edu
Julia Howe 465 FASB julia.howe@utah.edu
Lihai Hu 465 FASB lihai.hu@utah.edu
Tyler Huth 499 FASB u0883484@utah.edu
Mohd Yusuf Jameel 499 FASB yusuf8ysf@gmail.com
Cory Johnson 495 FASB cory.j.johnson3@gmail.com
Michael Jorgensen 291 FASB mike.jorgensen@utah.edu
Michael Jugle 283 FASB mjugle@gmail.com
Evan Kipnis 465 FASB evan.kipnis@gmail.com
Alexander Koch 361 FASB alexrkoch@gmail.com
Ke Li 291 FASB u0884302@utah.edu
Feng Lin 283 FASB u0944589@utah.edu
Wei Lin 287 FASB u0703769@utah.edu
Lisa Linville 282 FASB Lisa.Linville@gmail.com
Joao Carlos Luna Gonzalez 361 FASB u0881059@utah.edu
Glen Mackey No Office glen.mackey@gmail.com
Casey Meirovitz 495 FASB cdmeirovitz@gmail.com
Keegan Melstrom 365 FASB keeganmelstrom@gmail.com
Olivia Miller 465 FASB oliviamill@gmail.com
Mallory Millington 499 FASB malmillington@gmail.com
Shawn Moore 361 FASB shawnmoore2242@gmail.com
Jennifer Morris 361 FASB JenMorris65@gmail.com
Julia Mulhern 361 FASB juliamulhern5@gmail.com
Nora Nelson 465 FASB nelson.nor@googlemail.com
Guanning Pang 279 FASB pgn0707@mail.ustc.edu.cn
Elizabeth Pettinger 279 FASB pettinger.elizabeth@gmail.com
Steve Pinta No Office gbncodmn@yahoo.com
Stephen Potter 279 FASB steppotter@gmail.com
Jonathan Primm No Office jonnayp@gmail.com
Ryan Purcell No Office r.purcell@utah.edu
Annie Putman 499 FASB putmanannie@gmail.com
Brendon Quirk 279 FASB brendonjamesq@gmail.com
Cornelia Rasmussen 365 FASB rasmussen.cornelia@gmail.com
Grant Rea-Downing 495 FASB grant.readowning@utah.edu
Ellen Rosencrans No Office llnrosencrans@yahoo.com
Katherine Schide 465 FASB kschide@gmail.com
Gabriela St. Pierre 361 FASB gaestpierre@gmail.com
Peter Steele 365 FASB peterarthursteele@gmail.com
Xiaolei Tu No Office tuxl2009@hotmail.com
Crystal Tulley-Cordova 499 FASB crystal.tulley.cordova@utah.edu
Carla Valdes 499 FASB valdescarlaa@gmail.com
Christopher Volk No Office paleoint@gmail.com
Courtney Wagner 495 FASB courtney.wagner@utah.edu
Yadong Wang No Office Yadong.Wang@utah.edu
David Wheatley 361 FASB David.Wheatley@utah.edu
Jelle Wiersma No Office wiersma.jelle.p@gmail.com
Zackery Wistort 365 FASB zpwistort@gmail.com
Eli Workman No Office workitman@hotmail.com
Sin-Mei Wu 279 FASB a06859a35@hotmail.com
Shu Yang 499 FASB shu.yang@utah.edu
Yao Yao 282 FASB yaoyaoustc@gmail.com
Dae Ung Yoon 291 FASB duyoon@gmail.com
Brennan Young 369 FASB brennan1young@gmail.com

 

Last Updated: 6/19/17