You are here:

Department of Geology and Geophysics Directory

Visitors coming to campus, please check in at room 383 in FASB so we may assist you in locating any department personnal who you are meeting with.

 

Department Administration - Room 383 FASB

 

thure Department Chair

 Thure E. Cerling

 Office Phone: (801) 585-6656

 Email: thure.cerling@utah.edu

 

 


Administrative Assistant

Thea Hatfield

Office Phone: (801) 581-7062

Email:  thea.hatfield@utah.edu

 


Academic Advisor

Michelle Tuitupou

Office Phone: (801) 581-6553

Email: michelle.tuitupou@utah.edu

 


Accountant

Steve Rondina

Office Phone: (801) 585-6652

Email: steve.rondina@utah.edu


Administrative Program Coordinator

Shanna Futral

Office Phone: (801) 581-7162

Email: shanna.futral@utah.edu


Student Office Assistants

Kayleigh Kirkpatrick

Office Phone: (801) 585-7431

Email:  u1148394@gcloud.utah.edu

 

Paul Eubanks

Office Phone: (801) 585-7431

Email: paul.eubanks@utah.edu

 

Academic Faculty

Dr. B

Dr. John Bartley

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-1670

john.bartley@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Structural Geology

Tectonics

Igneous Petrology

lauren

Dr. Lauren Birgenheier

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3158

lauren.birgenheier@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Sedimentology

Stratigraphy

Petroleum Geology

Unconventional Resources

Paleoclimate

Website

Dr. B

Dr. Brenda Bowen

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building  (FASB)

801-585-5326

brenda.bowen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Global Change and Sustainability

Fluid-Sediment Interactions

Surface Processes in Extreme Environments

Sedimentary Geochemistry

CO2 Sequestration

Human Impacts on Environment

Interdisciplinary STEM Ed.

Dr. B 

Dr. Gabe Bowen

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-7925

gabe.bowen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotope Geochemistry

Paleoclimate

Carbon Cycle

Water Cycle

Forensic Ecology

Website

 Dr. B

Dr. John Bowman

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7250

john.bowman@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotope Geology

Metamorphic Petrology

 Dr. B

Dr. Paul Brooks

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-2858

paul.brooks@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Hydrology

Biogeochemistry

Snow

Climate

Water Resources

Hydrochemistry

Dr. B

Dr. Thure Cerling

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-5558

thure.cerling@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Environmental Geochemistry

Mammal Physiology

Isotope Geochemistry

Isotope Ecology

Website

 Dr. C

Dr. Marjorie Chan

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6551

marjorie.chan@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Sedimentary Geology

Website

Dinter 

Dr. David Dinter

Professor Lecture

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7937

david.dinter@utah.edu

 Holly

Dr. Holly Godsey

Assistant Professor Lecture

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-587-7865

holly.godsey@utah.edu

Dr I

Dr. Randall Irmis

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6555/801-585-0561

randall.irmis@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Continental Vertebrate Ecosystems

Paleoecology and Taphonomic Processes

Dr J

Dr. Paul Jewell

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6636

paul.jewell@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Surface Processes

Hydrology

Website

 

 

Dr J

Dr. Cari Johnson

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3782

cari.johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Basin Analysis

Sedimentology and Stratigraphy

Energy Geoscience

Website

Dr J

Dr. William (Bill) Johnson

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-5033

william.johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Subsurface and Aquatic Contaminant/Colloid Fate and Transport

Website


 

 

Keith

Dr. Keith Koper

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3669

keith.koper@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Array Seismology

Earth's ambient seismic noise field

Forensic seismology and exotic sources

Rupture imaging of giant earthquakes

Seismicity and tectonivs of the intermountain West

Structure and dynamics of Earth's deep interior especially the core

Website

sarah

Dr. Sarah Lambart

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-9797

sarah.lambart@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Experimental Petrology

Geochemistry

Magma Genesis

Magma & Fluid - Rock Interactions

Website

  Dr L

Dr. Fan-Chi Lin

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-4373

fanchi.lin@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Seismology

Geophysics

Website

Dr L 

Dr. Peter Lippert

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-4599

pete.lippert@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Continental Tectonics

Orogenic Systems

Surface Process Responses to Threshold Climate Events

Biomagnetism

Paleomagnetism and Rock & Mineral Magnetism

Website

 Dr M

Dr. Lowell Miyagi

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6619

lowell.miyagi@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Texture and Anisotropy Development Under High Pressure and Temperature Conditions

Website


 

 Dr M

Dr. Jeffrey Moore

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-0491

jeff.moore@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Geohazards

Geomorphology

Geomechanics

Geophysics

Website

 Dr N

Dr. Barbara Nash

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-8587

barb.nash@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Igneous Petrology

Mineralogy

Electron Microprobe Analysis

Website

 Dr P

Dr. Erich Petersen

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7238

erich.petersen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Economic Geology

Mineralogy

Geochemistry

Environment

Dr R 

Dr. Kathleen Ritterbush

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-587-8846

k.ritterbush@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Marine Paleoecology

Mass Extinctions

Ecological Transitions

Biomineralization and Biogeochemical Cycling

Animal Form and Funcation

Evolution

Dr S 

Dr. Kip Solomon

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7231

kip.solomon@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotopes of Noble Gases, especially 3He and 4He

Groundwater Hydrology

Dr T

Dr. Michael Thorne

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-9792

michael.thorne@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Global Seismic Structure

Core Mantle Boundary Layer Structure

Volcano Seismology

Website

 DR Z

Dr. Michael Zhdanov

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7750

michael.zhdanov@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Theoretical and Applied Geophysics

Inversion Theory

Electromagnetic Methods

Website

 

Research Faculty

 

Amir Allam

Title: Research Asisstant Professor Phone: (801)581-7062 Email: amir.allam@utah.edu
 

Diego Fernandez

Title: Research Associate Professor Phone: (801) 587-9366 Email: diego.fernandez@utah.edu
 

Jamie Farrell

Title: Research Assistant Professor Phone: (801)581-7856 Email: jamie.farrell@utah.edu
 

Alex Gribenko

Title: Research Assistant Professor Phone: (801) 585-7071 Email: alex.gribenko@utah.edu
 

Marie D.  Jackson

Title: Research Associate Professor Phone:  (928) 853-7967

Email: m.d.jackson@utah.edu

Website

 

James M. Karner

Title: Research Associate Professor Phone: (801) 585-5976 Email: j.karner@utah.edu
 

Huilian Ma

Title: Research Assistant Professor Phone: (801) 585-5976 Email: huilian.ma@utah.edu
 

Scott R. Miller

Title: Research Assistant Professor Phone: (801)581-6217 Email: scott.r.miller@utah.edu
 

Kris Pankow

Title: Research Associate Professor Phone: (801) 585-6484 Email: pankow@seis.utah.edu
 

James Pechmann

Title: Research Associate Professor Phone: (801) 581-3858 Email: pechmann@seis.utah.edu

 

 

Affiliated Faculty

Name Email
Richard George Allis rickallis@utah.gov
David Applegate applegate@usgs.gov
Lukas Baumgartner lukas.baumgartner@unil.ch
Harley M Benz  benz@usgs.gov
John O. D. Byrd  jodbyrd@gmail.com
Nancy Carpenter nancycarpenterdvm@yahoo.com
Suvankar Chakraborty suvankar.chakraborty@utah.edu
John B. Comer jcomer@indiana.edu
Martin Cuma m.cuma@utah.edu
James R Ehleringer jim.ehleringer@utah.edu
Anke Maria Friedrich friedrich@lmu.de
John M Harris jharris@nhm.org
Scott Hynek scott.hynek@gmail.com
James Ian Kirkland jameskirkland@utah.gov
Mark Andrew Loewen mloewen@umnh.utah.edu
Fredrick Kyalo Manthi fredrickmanthi@yahoo.com
Donald D. Miller driftwood1050@gmail.com
Joseph N Moore jmoore@egi.utah.edu
Desmond E Moser desmond.moser@uwo.ca
Charles G. Oviatt joviatt@ksu.edu
Sasha Carey Reed screed@usgs.gov
Gerard Schuster gerard.schuster@kaust.edu.sa
Daniel D B. Seely dans@igesinc.com
Stuart Simmons ssimmons@egi.utah.edu
Virginia B Sisson j_sisson@netzero.net
Michael Stearns michael.stearns@utah.edu

Richard P. Fiorella

rich.fiorella@utah.edu

Philip E Wannamaker

pewanna@egi.utah.edu

Anton Wroblewski

afranzjosef@gmail.com

Emeritus Faculty

Emeritus Faculty is a title conferred by The University of Utah for the purpose of recognizing the meritorious service of a faculty member upon or after retirement.  Appointments to emeritus status for retired faculty members are made by the Board of Trustees on recommendation of the President of the University and the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs.

Walter J. Arabasz

Phone: (801) 581-7410 Email: arabasz@seis.utah.edu

Ronald Bruhn

  Email: ron.bruhn@utah.edu

David S. Chapman

  Email: david.chapman@utah.edu

Allan A. (Tony) Ekdale

  Email: a.ekdale@utah.edu

Sue Halgedahl

  Email: s.halgedahl@utah.edu

William Parry

Phone: (801) 581-6217 Email: w.parry@utah.edu

Dane Picard

  Email: dane.picard@utah.edu

Robert B. Smith

Phone: (801) 581-7129 Email: robert.b.smith@utah.edu

 

Postdocs & Researchers

Vladimir Burtman

Email: vlad.burtman@utah.edu

Chao Ma

Email: chao.ma@utah.edu

Sarah Magozzi

Email: sarah.magozzi@utah.edu

Lindsey Christensen Nesbitt

Email: lindsey.nesbitt@utah.edu

Le Wan

Email: le.wan@utah.edu

Xiaonan Tai

Email: xiaonan.tai@utah.edu

Xiaoling Zhou

Email:  xiaolingzhou@lbl.gov

Lab Personnel & Curator

 

Chris Anderson

Phone: 801-587-5666 Email:  christopher.r.anderson@utah.edu

Sagarika Banerjee

  Email:  sagarika1005@yahoo.co.in

Wil Mace

Phone: 801-585-5214

Email:  wil.mace@utah.edu

Brad Munk

  Email:  brad.munk@gmail.com

Alan Rigby

Phone: 801-587-5666 Email:  alan.rigby@utah.edu

Quintin Sahratian

Phone: 801-581-7209 Email:  quintin.sahratian@utah.edu

 

 GRADUATE  STUDENTS

     
Beno, Carl
 
Berg, Elizabeth
 
Bernau, Jeremiah
 
Birthisel, Tylor
 
Bradbury, Christopher
 
Breeden, Benjamin
 
Chica, Andrea
 
Couper, Samantha
 
Dereuil, Aubry
 
Duncan, Casey   casey.j.duncan@utah.edu
Erickson, Brock   brock.erickson@utah.edu
Farnsworth, Anna   jfarnsworth@egi.utah.edu
Finnegan, Riley   riley.finnegan@utah.edu
Fischer-Femal, Brenden   b.fischerfemal@utah.edu
Fitzgerald, Kendall   kendallmfitz@gmail.com
Fults, Robin   robin.fults@utah.edu
Geimer, Paul   paul.geimer@utah.edu
Gkogkas, Konstantinos (Kostas)   u1249039@utah.edu
Grober, Benjamin   groberbenjamin@gmail.com
Han, Muran   muran.han@gmail.com
Hebdon, Nicholas   nicholas.hebdon@gmail.com
Hill, Scott   techsource@msn.com
Hood, Seana   seanahood@yahoo.com
Humphrey, Christopher (Eric)   c.humphrey@utah.edu
Jamison, Logan   logan.jamison@utah.edu
Jones, Clay   cjones@egi.utah.edu
Jorgensen, Michael   mjorgensen@gmail.com
Kipnis, Evan   evan.kipnis@utah.edu
Lerback, Jory   jory.lerback@gmail.com
Li, Ke   u0884302@utah.edu
Lin, Feng   linfeng910425@gmail.com
Lopez, Sam   u1214936@utah.edu
Mackey, Glen   Glen.Mackey@utah.edu
Marquardt, Joshua   joshua.marquardt@utah.edu
Maxeiner, Philip (Peter)   peter.maxeiner@utah.edu
Meirovitz, Casey   cmeirovitz@gmail.com
Melstrom, Keegan   keeganmelstrom@gmail.com
Mendoza, Kevin   kevin.mendoza@utah.edu
Millington, Mallory   malmillington@gmail.com
Ochoa, Raul   riochoa88@gmail.com
Pang, Guanning   yuupgn@gmail.com
Putman, Annie   putmanannie@gmail.com
Quirk, Brendon   brendonjamesq@gmail.com
Rabade-Garcia, Santiago   san.rabade@utah.edu
Rea-Downing, Grant   greadown@gmail.com
Reat, Ellen   ellen.reat@utah.edu
Record, Amy   arecord@egi.utah.edu
Rinaldi, Nicole   nicole.rinaldi@utah.edu
Ron, Cesar   cesar.andres_91@hotmail.com
Scales, Monique   moniquemscales@gmail.com
Singh, Bhavneet   bhavneet.singh8@gmail.com
St. Pierre, Gabriela   gaestpierre@gmail.com
Stanczyk, Anna   a.stanczyk@utah.edu
Steele, Peter   peterarthursteele@gmail.com
Tao, Mo   tmye1010@gmail.com
Tarng, Cheng   cheng.tarng@utah.edu
Tu, Xiaolei   tuxl2009@hotmail.com
Tulley-Cordova, Crystal   crystal.tulley.cordova@utah.edu
Valery, Catherine   catherine.valery@utah.edu
Wagner, Courtney   cwags2011@gmail.com
Wang, Yadong   yadongwang1991@gmail.com
Wells, Daniel   danedwells@gmail.com
Wistort, Zackery   zpwistort@gmail.com
Wolf, Margaret   meg.wolf.utah@gmail.com
Wright, Jacob   jake.wright@utah.edu
Wu, Sin-Mei   a06859a35@hotmail.com
Last Updated: 4/3/19