You are here:

About the Department

Over the past five years, few public research universities have risen in stature as quickly for both academic excellence and the creation of life-changing technological and medical innovation than the University of Utah. With the urban and cultural advantages of Salt Lake City out its front door, and the majestic Wasatch Mountains and some of the best outdoor recreational opportunities in the world in its backyard, the University of Utah is the state’s oldest and largest public institution of higher education, currently hosting 31,000 students. In 2011, the University will further its mission of excellence by joining one of the country’s most prestigious conferences— both athletically and academically—in the Pac-12.


The Geology and Geophysics program at the University of Utah is ranked within the top 50 Earth Science programs in the United States (US News & World Report, 2014). The faculty of the Department of Geology and Geophysics includes 24 regular (tenure-track) professors, 6 research professors, and 5 emeritus professors with specialties spanning the entire spectrum of the earth sciences. Women comprise 24% of the Faculty and 37% of the students in the Department. The Department has 180 undergraduates. There are 56 students in the Masters Program and 25 students in the PhD program. Students routinely serve on departmental committees and participate in the governance of the Department. Our professors are widely recognized for excellence in teaching and are at the forefront of their research fields. Close association between students and faculty is encouraged and enhances instructional and research activities.

Last Updated: 10/10/18