Research Facilities

Below is a brief description of the array of services offer by the Department.

 

Center for X-Ray Powder Diffraction

Dr. Erich Petersen, Professor

Office Phone: 801-581-7238, erich.petersen@utah.edu


Wil Mace, Sr. Laboratory Specialist

Office Phone: 801-585-5214, wil.mace@utah.edu

 

Dissolved & Noble Gas Laboratory

Dr. D. Kip Solomon, Professor and PI

Office Phone: 801-581-7231, kip.solomon@utah.edu

 

Alan Rigby, Lab Manager

Office Phone: 801-585-5214, alan.rigby@utah.edu

 

Electron Microprobe Laboratory

Dr. Barbara P. Nash, Professor and Laboratory Director

Office Phone: 801-581-8587, barb.nash@utah.edu


Wil Mace, Sr. Laboratory Specialist

Office Phone: 801-585-5214, wil.mace@utah.edu

 

ICP MS Metals Laboratory

Dr. Diego P. Fernandez, Research Associate Professor

Office Phone: 801-581-8657, diego.fernandez@utah.edu 

 

Dr. William P. Johnson, Professor

Office Phone: 801-581-5033, william.johnson@utah.edu

 

Particle Light Scattering Size & Surface Charge Laboratory

Dr. William P. Johnson, Professor

Office Phone: 801-581-5033, william.johnson@utah.edu

Christopher Anderson, Sr. Laboratory Specialist

Office Phone: 801-587-5666, christopher.r.anderson@utah.edu

Calendar for Lab

 

QEMSCAN Laboratory

Dr. Erich Petersen, Professor

Office Phone: 801-581-7238, erich.petersen@utah.edu


Wil Mace, Sr. Laboratory Specialist

Office Phone: 801-585-5214, wil.mace@utah.edu

 

Sample Preparation & Thin Section Lab

Quintin Sahratian , Curator

Office Phone: (801) 581-7209, quintin.sahratian@utah.edu

 

Strontium Isotope Geochemistry Laboratory

Dr. Diego P. Fernandez, Research Associate Professor

Office Phone: 801-581-8657, diego.fernandez@utah.edu